College Viability Inspection Report

Mercy College of Health Sciences

Iowa · Private, not-for-profit

Mercy College of Health Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution in Iowa, enrolling 843 students as of 2024. It graduates 38% of students in four years, returns 69% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $28,313 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 6 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Enrollment, Endowment, Cost vs. Completion, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Mercy College of Health Sciences's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Mercy College of Health Sciences between 2020 and 2024. 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Mercy College of Health Sciences Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Mercy College of Health Sciences — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Mercy College of Health Sciences. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate38.0%not reported46th
Six-Year Graduation Rate38.0%+52.0%21st
Full-Time Retention Rate69.0%+11.3%27th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate100.0%+33.3%98th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-75.0pp-145.4%1st
Pell Share of Cohort55.6%+80.6%78th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.13×-2.3%64th
Total FTE Enrollment843-7.9%31st
Endowment Value$11.5M+38.5%21st
Net Assets (End of Year)$59.9M+44.1%40th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %48.4%+0.3%90th
Student Support Spending %12.9%-14.5%51st
Administrative Spending %26.1%-0.5%77th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.35×-2.7%39th
Average Net Price$28,313+32.7%83rd
Net Price: $0-30K Income$24,171+27.9%89th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$27,533+44.4%92nd
Net Price: $48-75K Income$29,193+34.3%93rd
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$26,615+1.8%79th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$29,953+4.1%70th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Mercy College of Health Sciences's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Mercy College of Health Sciences's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 4 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Mercy College of Health Sciences's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 5 reported years — ending at 1.13× in 2024.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Mercy College of Health Sciences's total enrollment fell from 915 to 843 students between 2020 and 2024 (-7.9%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Mercy College of Health Sciences's endowment is $11.5M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +38.5% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Mercy College of Health Sciences costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Mercy College of Health Sciences spends $2.35 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared