College Viability Inspection Report

Divine Word College

Iowa · Private, not-for-profit

Divine Word College is a private, nonprofit institution in Iowa, enrolling 59 students as of 2024. It graduates 100% of students in four years, returns 33% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $3,083 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 7 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Enrollment, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Divine Word College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Divine Word College between 2020 and 2024. 3 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 2 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Divine Word College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Divine Word College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Divine Word College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate100.0%not reported100th
Six-Year Graduation Rate100.0%not reported99th
Full-Time Retention Rate33.0%not reported1st
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gapnot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Share of Cohort0.0%-100.0%0th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.28×+1.4%84th
Total FTE Enrollment59-21.3%5th
Endowment Value$37.6M+21.5%42nd
Net Assets (End of Year)$40.3M+20.3%32nd

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %26.5%-11.0%24th
Student Support Spending %16.9%+6.1%66th
Administrative Spending %35.2%+6.7%90th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.23×-11.0%12th
Average Net Price$3,083not reported1st
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Divine Word College's retention rate fell below 80% in 2 of 3 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Divine Word College's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Divine Word College's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Divine Word College's total enrollment fell from 75 to 59 students between 2020 and 2024 (-21.3%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Divine Word College's endowment is $37.6M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +21.5% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Divine Word College costs less than the national median AND graduates students at above-median rates — neither condition for this flag is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Divine Word College spends $1.23 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated