College Viability Inspection Report

Blue Mountain Christian University

Mississippi · Private, not-for-profit

Blue Mountain Christian University is a private, nonprofit institution in Mississippi, enrolling 683 students as of 2024. It graduates 36% of students in four years, returns 68% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $24,712 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 6 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Endowment, Cost vs. Completion, Tuition Allocation, and Price vs. Outcomes. This report benchmarks Blue Mountain Christian University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Blue Mountain Christian University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Blue Mountain Christian University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Blue Mountain Christian University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate36.0%-10.0%43rd
Six-Year Graduation Rate39.0%-20.4%23rd
Full-Time Retention Rate68.0%-2.9%26th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate50.0%+28.1%53rd
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-11.1pp-140.2%7th
Pell Share of Cohort42.9%-22.6%59th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.89×-13.7%8th
Total FTE Enrollment683-2.7%26th
Endowment Value$20.5M+6.6%30th
Net Assets (End of Year)$32.1M+9.7%29th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %49.2%+7.9%91st
Student Support Spending %10.4%-22.3%40th
Administrative Spending %23.4%+9.5%69th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.55×-7.7%44th
Average Net Price$24,712+80.6%73rd
Net Price: $0-30K Income$23,112+83.4%86th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$23,791+155.5%87th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$24,721+50.9%85th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$26,722+58.4%79th
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Blue Mountain Christian University's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Blue Mountain Christian University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Blue Mountain Christian University's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10pp in 2 of 3 eligible years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Blue Mountain Christian University's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Blue Mountain Christian University's total enrollment fell from 702 to 683 students between 2020 and 2024 (-2.7%) — less than the 5% decline that triggers this flag.
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Blue Mountain Christian University's endowment is $20.5M — under $50 million — and grew +6.6% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Blue Mountain Christian University costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Blue Mountain Christian University spends $2.55 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 4 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Both conditions were met: Blue Mountain Christian University's net price rose while the 6-year graduation rate declined between 2020 and 2024 — a prompt to ask whether tuition increases are translating into stronger student outcomes.
Value for MoneyTriggered