College Viability Inspection Report

Yeshivath Shaar Hatorah

New York · Private, not-for-profit

Yeshivath Shaar Hatorah is a private, nonprofit institution in New York, enrolling 66 students as of 2024. It graduates 4% of students in four years, returns 86% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $15,288 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 2 are flagged: Graduation and Endowment. This report benchmarks Yeshivath Shaar Hatorah's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Yeshivath Shaar Hatorah between 2020 and 2024. 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Yeshivath Shaar Hatorah Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Yeshivath Shaar Hatorah — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Yeshivath Shaar Hatorah. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate4.0%-85.7%7th
Six-Year Graduation Rate56.0%+100.0%51st
Full-Time Retention Rate86.0%-3.4%77th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate100.0%0.0%98th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-48.3pp+27.6%1st
Pell Share of Cohort3.3%-46.7%3rd

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.01×+0.3%31st
Total FTE Enrollment66+20.0%6th
Endowment Value$120,000+110.3%2nd
Net Assets (End of Year)$13.1M+461.4%19th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %43.8%+0.2%84th
Student Support Spending %11.2%+2.0%44th
Administrative Spending %10.1%-23.7%16th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio5.43×+31.9%91st
Average Net Price$15,288+64.8%34th
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Income$8,850-4.6%11th
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Yeshivath Shaar Hatorah's retention rate stayed at or above 86% in all 5 reported years — above the 80% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Yeshivath Shaar Hatorah's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Yeshivath Shaar Hatorah's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 5 reported years — ending at 1.01× in 2024.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Yeshivath Shaar Hatorah's total enrollment grew from 55 to 66 students between 2020 and 2024 (+20.0%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Yeshivath Shaar Hatorah's endowment is $120,000, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +110.4% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Yeshivath Shaar Hatorah costs less than the national median AND graduates students at above-median rates — neither condition for this flag is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Yeshivath Shaar Hatorah spends $5.43 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared