College Viability Inspection Report

Yeshiva Gedolah Shaarei Shmuel

New Jersey · Private, not-for-profit

Yeshiva Gedolah Shaarei Shmuel is a private, nonprofit institution in New Jersey, enrolling 163 students as of 2024. It graduates 26% of students in four years, returns 70% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $14,714 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 6 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 2 are flagged: Retention and Graduation. This report benchmarks Yeshiva Gedolah Shaarei Shmuel's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Yeshiva Gedolah Shaarei Shmuel between 2020 and 2024. 4 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 1 with no year reported at all) and 3 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Yeshiva Gedolah Shaarei Shmuel Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Yeshiva Gedolah Shaarei Shmuel — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Yeshiva Gedolah Shaarei Shmuel. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate26.0%not reported26th
Six-Year Graduation Rate26.0%not reported11th
Full-Time Retention Rate70.0%-20.4%30th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate0.0%not reported0th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap12.5ppnot reported66th
Pell Share of Cohort11.1%not reported5th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.98×-24.6%21st
Total FTE Enrollment163+64.7%11th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)$5.5M+108.5%13th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %42.0%-12.4%80th
Student Support Spending %28.0%+30.5%93rd
Administrative Spending %25.0%+20.0%74th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.80×-16.0%52nd
Average Net Price$14,714+21.7%31st
Net Price: $0-30K Income$14,582not reported54th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$14,996not reported54th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$15,590not reported46th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$15,265+38.2%23rd
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Yeshiva Gedolah Shaarei Shmuel's retention rate fell below 80% in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Yeshiva Gedolah Shaarei Shmuel's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 4 of 4 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Yeshiva Gedolah Shaarei Shmuel's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Yeshiva Gedolah Shaarei Shmuel's total enrollment grew from 99 to 163 students between 2020 and 2024 (+64.6%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Yeshiva Gedolah Shaarei Shmuel costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Yeshiva Gedolah Shaarei Shmuel's ratio fell below the national median of $2.75 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated