College Viability Inspection Report

Wilberforce University

Ohio · Private, not-for-profit

Wilberforce University is a private, nonprofit institution in Ohio, enrolling 595 students as of 2024. It graduates 29% of students in four years, returns 74% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $5,533 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Wilberforce University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Wilberforce University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Wilberforce University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Wilberforce University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate29.0%+222.2%30th
Six-Year Graduation Rate41.0%+127.8%25th
Full-Time Retention Rate74.0%+111.4%41st
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate12.0%-62.6%6th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gapnot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Share of Cohort100.0%+17.9%98th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.75×-27.3%2nd
Total FTE Enrollment595+22.2%24th
Endowment Value$7.1M+0.5%17th
Net Assets (End of Year)$16.3M+231.3%21st

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %20.3%+5.5%11th
Student Support Spending %21.0%+4.5%80th
Administrative Spending %39.1%+4.7%93rd
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.06×+0.2%9th
Average Net Price$5,533-59.4%3rd
Net Price: $0-30K Income$5,630-63.6%10th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$5,313-68.0%8th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$5,211-70.5%3rd
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$5,217-72.3%1st
Net Price: $110K+ Income$5,226not reported0th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Wilberforce University's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Wilberforce University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Wilberforce University's Pell graduation gap stayed at or below 10 percentage points in all 3 eligible years.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Wilberforce University's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Wilberforce University's total enrollment grew from 487 to 595 students between 2020 and 2024 (+22.2%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Wilberforce University's endowment is $7.1M — under $50 million — and grew +0.5% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Wilberforce University costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Wilberforce University spends $1.06 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared