College Viability Inspection Report

Western Governors University

Utah · Private, not-for-profit

Western Governors University is a private, nonprofit institution in Utah, enrolling 123,305 students as of 2024. It graduates 33% of students in four years, returns 65% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $11,328 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 5 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Equity Gap, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Western Governors University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Western Governors University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Western Governors University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Western Governors University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate33.0%+230.0%37th
Six-Year Graduation Rate49.0%+69.0%37th
Full-Time Retention Rate65.0%-13.3%19th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate38.6%+79.8%31st
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap11.6pp-76.7%61st
Pell Share of Cohort35.0%-28.4%43rd

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.16×+10.3%69th
Total FTE Enrollment123,305+47.3%100th
Endowment Value$3.3M+702.8%10th
Net Assets (End of Year)$384.1M+72.8%80th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %36.2%-13.0%62nd
Student Support Spending %12.3%+10.6%49th
Administrative Spending %30.8%+26.5%85th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.58×-27.3%19th
Average Net Price$11,328+28.9%17th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$12,064+30.0%41st
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$12,436+48.3%40th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$12,578-2.8%28th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$14,824+7.5%21st
Net Price: $110K+ Income$12,734not reported6th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Western Governors University's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Western Governors University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 4 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Western Governors University's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10 percentage points in 3 of 4 eligible years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Western Governors University's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 5 reported years — ending at 1.16× in 2024.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Western Governors University's total enrollment grew from 83,695 to 123,305 students between 2020 and 2024 (+47.3%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Western Governors University's endowment is $3.3M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +702.7% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Western Governors University costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Western Governors University spends $1.58 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared