College Viability Inspection Report

West Virginia University Institute of Technology

West Virginia · Public

West Virginia University Institute of Technology is a public institution in West Virginia, enrolling 1,119 students as of 2024. It graduates 20% of students in four years, returns 62% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $11,281 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 4 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 2 are flagged: Retention and Graduation. This report benchmarks West Virginia University Institute of Technology's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for West Virginia University Institute of Technology between 2020 and 2024. 10 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 5 with no years reported at all) and 5 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

West Virginia University Institute of Technology Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

West Virginia University Institute of Technology — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for West Virginia University Institute of Technology. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate20.0%not reported19th
Six-Year Graduation Rate34.0%not reported18th
Full-Time Retention Rate62.0%not reported15th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate30.4%not reported19th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap4.9ppnot reported33rd
Pell Share of Cohort47.4%not reported67th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Rationot reportednot reportednot reported
Total FTE Enrollment1,119not reported39th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)not reportednot reportednot reported

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %not reportednot reportednot reported
Student Support Spending %not reportednot reportednot reported
Administrative Spending %not reportednot reportednot reported
Instruction+Support to Admin Rationot reportednot reportednot reported
Average Net Price$11,281+11.1%17th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$6,998-4.5%14th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$6,752-19.7%12th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$9,137-15.2%12th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$11,861-15.8%11th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$14,797+0.7%10th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
West Virginia University Institute of Technology's retention rate fell below 80% in 4 of 4 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
West Virginia University Institute of Technology's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 4 of 4 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
West Virginia University Institute of Technology's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10pp in 2 of 4 eligible years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Total enrollment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
West Virginia University Institute of Technology costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated