College Viability Inspection Report

Webb Institute

New York · Private, not-for-profit

Webb Institute is a private, nonprofit institution in New York, enrolling 127 students as of 2024. It graduates 86% of students in four years, returns 93% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $21,966 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 2 are flagged: Endowment and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Webb Institute's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Webb Institute between 2020 and 2024. 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Webb Institute Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Webb Institute — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Webb Institute. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate86.0%+17.8%97th
Six-Year Graduation Rate89.0%+21.9%95th
Full-Time Retention Rate93.0%+1.1%90th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate100.0%0.0%98th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-13.0pp+34.8%6th
Pell Share of Cohort8.0%-52.0%4th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.62×+285.7%96th
Total FTE Enrollment127+4.1%10th
Endowment Value$71.6M+12.6%58th
Net Assets (End of Year)$92.3M+3.0%50th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %35.7%-7.3%60th
Student Support Spending %10.5%+15.3%40th
Administrative Spending %30.0%-2.3%84th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.54×-0.7%19th
Average Net Price$21,966+19.9%62nd
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$61,170+991.4%100th
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$70,713+468.0%100th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$76,350+287.9%100th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Webb Institute's retention rate stayed at or above 85% in all 5 reported years — above the 80% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Webb Institute's 4-year graduation rate stayed at or above 67% in all 5 reported years — above the 50% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Webb Institute's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Webb Institute's total enrollment grew from 122 to 127 students between 2020 and 2024 (+4.1%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Webb Institute's endowment grew +12.6% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold — though at $71.6M it clears the $50 million size threshold.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Webb Institute costs more than the national median but also graduates students at above-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Webb Institute spends $1.54 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared