College Viability Inspection Report

University of the West

California · Private, not-for-profit

University of the West is a private, nonprofit institution in California, enrolling 42 students as of 2024. It graduates 0% of students in four years, returns 50% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $14,713 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 6 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Enrollment, Endowment, Tuition Allocation, and Price vs. Outcomes. This report benchmarks University of the West's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for University of the West between 2020 and 2024. 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

University of the West Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

University of the West — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for University of the West. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Six-Year Graduation Rate20.0%-58.3%7th
Full-Time Retention Rate50.0%-33.3%5th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate36.4%+130.3%27th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap3.6pp-89.4%30th
Pell Share of Cohort68.8%+4.9%89th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.14×+6.5%65th
Total FTE Enrollment42-65.0%4th
Endowment Value$17.3M+16.5%27th
Net Assets (End of Year)$32.4M+10.7%29th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %25.2%-26.1%21st
Student Support Spending %4.5%-21.5%13th
Administrative Spending %41.7%+11.3%95th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio0.71×-33.0%4th
Average Net Price$14,713+35.8%31st
Net Price: $0-30K Income$6,845-21.1%14th
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
University of the West's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
University of the West's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
University of the West's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
University of the West's total enrollment fell from 120 to 42 students between 2020 and 2024 (-65.0%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
University of the West's endowment is $17.3M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +16.5% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
University of the West costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
University of the West spends $0.71 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Both conditions were met: University of the West's net price rose while the 6-year graduation rate declined between 2020 and 2024 — a prompt to ask whether tuition increases are translating into stronger student outcomes.
Value for MoneyTriggered