College Viability Inspection Report

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras

Puerto Rico · Public

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras is a public institution in Puerto Rico, enrolling 7,466 students as of 2024. It graduates 15% of students in four years, returns 77% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $8,350 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Graduation, Enrollment, Endowment, and Price vs. Outcomes. This report benchmarks University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate15.0%0.0%15th
Six-Year Graduation Rate47.0%-17.5%34th
Full-Time Retention Rate77.0%-8.3%51st
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate52.2%+3.5%58th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-5.2pp-166.7%10th
Pell Share of Cohort62.2%-4.5%85th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.18×+80.5%74th
Total FTE Enrollment7,466-21.1%85th
Endowment Value$273,192-65.9%3rd
Net Assets (End of Year)$-341.5M+42.2%1st

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %63.2%+87.3%99th
Student Support Spending %5.9%+77.1%18th
Administrative Spending %8.9%+85.5%13th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio7.79×+0.5%96th
Average Net Price$8,350+2.0%9th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$8,018+4.0%18th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$8,553+4.1%19th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$11,002+3.7%20th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$11,925+46.5%11th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$13,018not reported6th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras's retention rate fell below 80% in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras's Pell graduation gap stayed at or below 10 percentage points in all 5 eligible years.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras's total enrollment fell from 9,459 to 7,466 students between 2020 and 2024 (-21.1%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras's endowment is $273,192 — under $50 million — and grew -65.9% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras spends $7.79 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Both conditions were met: University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras's net price rose while the 6-year graduation rate declined between 2020 and 2024 — a prompt to ask whether tuition increases are translating into stronger student outcomes.
Value for MoneyTriggered