College Viability Inspection Report

University of Puerto Rico-Humacao

Puerto Rico · Public

University of Puerto Rico-Humacao is a public institution in Puerto Rico, enrolling 2,351 students as of 2024. It graduates 11% of students in four years, returns 81% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $12,523 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Graduation, Enrollment, and Endowment. This report benchmarks University of Puerto Rico-Humacao's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

University of Puerto Rico-Humacao Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

University of Puerto Rico-Humacao — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for University of Puerto Rico-Humacao. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate11.0%+22.2%12th
Six-Year Graduation Rate47.0%0.0%34th
Full-Time Retention Rate81.0%-5.8%64th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate46.0%-6.7%46th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-0.8pp-110.8%15th
Pell Share of Cohort86.3%+5.5%95th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.48×+112.0%94th
Total FTE Enrollment2,351-17.7%61st
Endowment Value$4,037-81.8%0th
Net Assets (End of Year)$-62.8M+52.0%2nd

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %73.5%+119.9%100th
Student Support Spending %8.5%+69.0%30th
Administrative Spending %15.1%+52.8%35th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio5.44×+39.5%91st
Average Net Price$12,523+37.8%22nd
Net Price: $0-30K Income$12,036+42.8%41st
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$12,957+31.7%43rd
Net Price: $48-75K Income$15,481+29.6%45th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$16,960+30.3%31st
Net Price: $110K+ Income$19,547not reported26th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
University of Puerto Rico-Humacao's retention rate fell below 80% in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
University of Puerto Rico-Humacao's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
University of Puerto Rico-Humacao's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10pp in 1 of 5 eligible years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
University of Puerto Rico-Humacao's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
University of Puerto Rico-Humacao's total enrollment fell from 2,856 to 2,351 students between 2020 and 2024 (-17.7%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
University of Puerto Rico-Humacao's endowment is $4,037 — under $50 million — and grew -81.8% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
University of Puerto Rico-Humacao costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
University of Puerto Rico-Humacao spends $5.44 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared