College Viability Inspection Report

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina

Puerto Rico · Public

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina is a public institution in Puerto Rico, enrolling 1,772 students as of 2024. It graduates 38% of students in four years, returns 71% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $12,596 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Enrollment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks University of Puerto Rico-Carolina's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for University of Puerto Rico-Carolina between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator is not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for University of Puerto Rico-Carolina. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate38.0%+11.8%46th
Six-Year Graduation Rate54.0%+12.5%47th
Full-Time Retention Rate71.0%-13.4%32nd
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate38.0%-24.9%30th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap3.4pp-8.9%29th
Pell Share of Cohort87.7%+9.4%95th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.29×+106.9%85th
Total FTE Enrollment1,772-14.2%52nd
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)$-49.2M+38.9%2nd

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %46.0%+58.8%88th
Student Support Spending %11.8%+68.1%47th
Administrative Spending %31.3%+205.4%86th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.85×-47.4%25th
Average Net Price$12,596+54.6%22nd
Net Price: $0-30K Income$12,287+62.7%42nd
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$13,001+57.3%43rd
Net Price: $48-75K Income$15,267+71.0%44th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$16,900+79.1%31st
Net Price: $110K+ Income$18,229not reported20th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
University of Puerto Rico-Carolina's retention rate fell below 80% in 4 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
University of Puerto Rico-Carolina's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
University of Puerto Rico-Carolina's Pell graduation gap stayed at or below 10 percentage points in all 5 eligible years.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
University of Puerto Rico-Carolina's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
University of Puerto Rico-Carolina's total enrollment fell from 2,066 to 1,772 students between 2020 and 2024 (-14.2%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
University of Puerto Rico-Carolina costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
University of Puerto Rico-Carolina spends $1.85 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 3 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared