College Viability Inspection Report

University of Puerto Rico at Ponce

Puerto Rico · Public

University of Puerto Rico at Ponce is a public institution in Puerto Rico, enrolling 2,322 students as of 2024. It graduates 7% of students in four years, returns 73% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $9,830 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, and Price vs. Outcomes. This report benchmarks University of Puerto Rico at Ponce's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for University of Puerto Rico at Ponce between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator is not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

University of Puerto Rico at Ponce Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

University of Puerto Rico at Ponce — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for University of Puerto Rico at Ponce. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate7.0%-50.0%8th
Six-Year Graduation Rate47.0%-9.6%34th
Full-Time Retention Rate73.0%-8.8%39th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate44.9%-5.6%44th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap18.2pp+423.8%85th
Pell Share of Cohort85.5%+1.9%95th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.26×+74.4%83rd
Total FTE Enrollment2,322+0.1%60th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)$-33.1M+51.1%3rd

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %55.9%+101.2%96th
Student Support Spending %11.2%+81.2%43rd
Administrative Spending %17.8%+66.4%48th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio3.77×+18.8%73rd
Average Net Price$9,830+36.1%12th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$10,114+42.4%29th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$10,534+31.5%30th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$13,017+29.4%31st
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$13,600+24.5%16th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$12,404not reported5th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
University of Puerto Rico at Ponce's retention rate fell below 80% in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
University of Puerto Rico at Ponce's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
University of Puerto Rico at Ponce's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10pp in 2 of 5 eligible years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
University of Puerto Rico at Ponce's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
University of Puerto Rico at Ponce's total enrollment grew from 2,320 to 2,322 students between 2020 and 2024 (+0.1%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
University of Puerto Rico at Ponce costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
University of Puerto Rico at Ponce's ratio fell below the national median of $2.75 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Both conditions were met: University of Puerto Rico at Ponce's net price rose while the 6-year graduation rate declined between 2020 and 2024 — a prompt to ask whether tuition increases are translating into stronger student outcomes.
Value for MoneyTriggered