College Viability Inspection Report

University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo

Puerto Rico · Public

University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo is a public institution in Puerto Rico, enrolling 2,655 students as of 2024. It graduates 14% of students in four years, returns 76% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $10,356 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, and Enrollment. This report benchmarks University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator is not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate14.0%not reported14th
Six-Year Graduation Rate50.0%+13.6%39th
Full-Time Retention Rate76.0%-5.0%47th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate53.1%-0.8%60th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap1.6pp+884.4%23rd
Pell Share of Cohort88.7%-0.3%96th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.38×+106.2%91st
Total FTE Enrollment2,655-19.3%65th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)$-46.7M+55.1%2nd

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %64.5%+101.8%99th
Student Support Spending %10.2%+91.3%39th
Administrative Spending %16.7%+103.2%43rd
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio4.48×-1.4%84th
Average Net Price$10,356-0.1%14th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$10,332+5.1%30th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$11,033+0.9%32nd
Net Price: $48-75K Income$12,065-6.2%25th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$12,960-9.9%15th
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo's retention rate fell below 80% in 4 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo's Pell graduation gap stayed at or below 10 percentage points in all 5 eligible years.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo's total enrollment fell from 3,288 to 2,655 students between 2020 and 2024 (-19.3%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo spends $4.48 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared