College Viability Inspection Report

University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus

Pennsylvania · Public

University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus is a public institution in Pennsylvania, enrolling 21,620 students as of 2024. It graduates 69% of students in four years, returns 92% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $25,223 a year after grants and scholarships. None of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated for University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus are flagged. This report benchmarks University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus between 2020 and 2024. 4 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate69.0%+6.2%87th
Six-Year Graduation Rate84.0%+1.2%91st
Full-Time Retention Rate92.0%-1.1%88th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate77.2%+2.0%89th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap9.5pp+2.7%52nd
Pell Share of Cohort13.0%-12.8%7th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Rationot reportednot reportednot reported
Total FTE Enrollment21,620+6.3%96th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)not reportednot reportednot reported

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %not reportednot reportednot reported
Student Support Spending %not reportednot reportednot reported
Administrative Spending %not reportednot reportednot reported
Instruction+Support to Admin Rationot reportednot reportednot reported
Average Net Price$25,223+12.9%74th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$14,709-2.5%54th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$18,371+3.8%70th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$23,192-3.9%81st
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$31,567+7.8%90th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$36,008+11.9%85th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus's retention rate stayed at or above 92% in all 5 reported years — above the 80% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus's 4-year graduation rate stayed at or above 65% in all 5 reported years — above the 50% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus's Pell graduation gap stayed at or below 10 percentage points in all 5 eligible years.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 4 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus's total enrollment grew from 20,343 to 21,620 students between 2020 and 2024 (+6.3%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus costs more than the national median but also graduates students at above-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus spends $— on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared