University of Northwestern Ohio is a private, nonprofit institution in Ohio, enrolling 2,670 students as of 2024. It graduates 31% of students in four years, returns 61% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $21,853 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 7 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 5 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Enrollment, Cost vs. Completion, and Price vs. Outcomes. This report benchmarks University of Northwestern Ohio's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.
University of Northwestern Ohio Inspection Flags
Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.
Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.
Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.
Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
Student Outcomes
How students at University of Northwestern Ohio complete their degrees, benchmarked against U.S. four-year colleges.
College Financial Health
How financially stable University of Northwestern Ohio is, benchmarked against U.S. four-year colleges.
Value for Your Money
How University of Northwestern Ohio spends its budget and what families pay, benchmarked against U.S. four-year colleges.
How Much Will This Cost for Your Income Level?
Net price is the average annual out-of-pocket cost for first-time, full-time undergraduate students — tuition + fees + room & board, minus the grants and scholarships the institution reports providing to students in each income bracket. Select your household income below to see the reported figure for that group.
University of Northwestern Ohio — All Reported Indicators
Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for University of Northwestern Ohio. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.
Student Outcomes
| Metric | 2024 Value | 5-Yr % Change | National Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Four-Year Graduation Rate | 31.0% | -16.2% | 34th |
| Six-Year Graduation Rate | 38.0% | -17.4% | 21st |
| Full-Time Retention Rate | 61.0% | +13.0% | 14th |
| Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate | 22.5% | -44.6% | 11th |
| Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap | 15.4pp | +139.0% | 77th |
| Pell Share of Cohort | 37.7% | -2.1% | 49th |
Financial Health
| Metric | 2024 Value | 5-Yr % Change | National Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue-to-Expense Ratio | 1.04× | -0.5% | 38th |
| Total FTE Enrollment | 2,670 | -17.0% | 65th |
| Endowment Value | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Net Assets (End of Year) | $87.9M | +25.7% | 49th |
Value for Money
| Metric | 2024 Value | 5-Yr % Change | National Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Instructional Spending % | 31.4% | -3.2% | 42nd |
| Student Support Spending % | 27.3% | -10.9% | 93rd |
| Administrative Spending % | 20.5% | +5.6% | 60th |
| Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio | 2.87× | -11.9% | 53rd |
| Average Net Price | $21,853 | +24.3% | 62nd |
| Net Price: $0-30K Income | $16,009 | +8.3% | 60th |
| Net Price: $30K-48K Income | $16,997 | +6.8% | 63rd |
| Net Price: $48-75K Income | $20,391 | +0.7% | 70th |
| Net Price: $75K-110K Income | $24,031 | +6.9% | 69th |
| Net Price: $110K+ Income | $25,190 | +11.9% | 51st |
Inspection Flags
| Flag | Section | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Retention Below 80% University of Northwestern Ohio's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. | Student Outcomes | Triggered |
| Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50% University of Northwestern Ohio's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. | Student Outcomes | Triggered |
| Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students. | Student Outcomes | Not Evaluated |
| Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0 University of Northwestern Ohio's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold. | Financial Health | Cleared |
| Enrollment Declined 5% or More University of Northwestern Ohio's total enrollment fell from 3,216 to 2,670 students between 2020 and 2024 (-17.0%) — a decline of 5% or more. | Financial Health | Triggered |
| Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15% Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated. | Financial Health | Not Evaluated |
| High Cost, Low Completion University of Northwestern Ohio costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met. | Value for Money | Triggered |
| Spending on Students Below the National Median University of Northwestern Ohio's ratio fell below the national median of $2.75 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold. | Value for Money | Cleared |
| Rising Price, Falling Outcomes Both conditions were met: University of Northwestern Ohio's net price rose while the 6-year graduation rate declined between 2020 and 2024 — a prompt to ask whether tuition increases are translating into stronger student outcomes. | Value for Money | Triggered |