College Viability Inspection Report

University of Hawaii Maui College

Hawaii · Public

University of Hawaii Maui College is a public institution in Hawaii, enrolling 1,228 students as of 2024. It graduates 20% of students in four years and costs an average of $8,089 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 7 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Enrollment, and Endowment. This report benchmarks University of Hawaii Maui College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for University of Hawaii Maui College between 2020 and 2024. 3 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 2 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

University of Hawaii Maui College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

University of Hawaii Maui College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for University of Hawaii Maui College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate20.0%not reported19th
Six-Year Graduation Rate20.0%not reported7th
Full-Time Retention Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate0.0%0.0%0th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap16.7ppnot reported81st
Pell Share of Cohort53.8%+7.7%77th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.00×+3.8%27th
Total FTE Enrollment1,228-23.4%42nd
Endowment Value$415,524+16.7%3rd
Net Assets (End of Year)$57.0M+5.3%39th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %56.4%-4.7%97th
Student Support Spending %7.9%+14.7%27th
Administrative Spending %11.8%+3.2%21st
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio5.45×-5.7%91st
Average Net Price$8,089-29.5%8th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$7,386-28.1%16th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$6,194-46.6%11th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$9,388-23.9%13th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$9,119-37.6%5th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$14,937-11.4%10th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
University of Hawaii Maui College's retention rate fell below 80% in 3 of 4 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
University of Hawaii Maui College's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 3 of 4 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
University of Hawaii Maui College's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
University of Hawaii Maui College's total enrollment fell from 1,604 to 1,228 students between 2020 and 2024 (-23.4%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
University of Hawaii Maui College's endowment is $415,524, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +16.7% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
University of Hawaii Maui College costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
University of Hawaii Maui College spends $5.45 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated