College Viability Inspection Report

University of Guam

Guam · Public

University of Guam is a public institution in Guam, enrolling 2,211 students as of 2024. It graduates 11% of students in four years, returns 77% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $7,914 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 5 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Enrollment, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks University of Guam's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

University of Guam Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

University of Guam — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for University of Guam. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate11.0%+22.2%12th
Six-Year Graduation Rate38.0%+15.2%21st
Full-Time Retention Rate77.0%+2.7%51st
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate43.6%+24.9%42nd
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-11.6pp-265.3%7th
Pell Share of Cohort42.3%-31.1%58th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.06×+7.7%45th
Total FTE Enrollment2,211-19.7%59th
Endowment Value$31.4M+10.5%38th
Net Assets (End of Year)$-102.2M+0.9%2nd

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %18.7%-2.7%8th
Student Support Spending %3.3%-44.8%9th
Administrative Spending %9.0%-2.9%13th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.44×-10.0%42nd
Average Net Price$7,914-1.7%8th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$7,105+30.6%15th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$7,468-15.1%15th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$9,639-8.7%14th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$11,272+4.1%10th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$14,692not reported10th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
University of Guam's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
University of Guam's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
University of Guam's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10pp in 1 of 5 eligible years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
University of Guam's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
University of Guam's total enrollment fell from 2,754 to 2,211 students between 2020 and 2024 (-19.7%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
University of Guam's endowment is $31.4M — under $50 million — and grew +10.5% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
University of Guam costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
University of Guam spends $2.44 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared