College Viability Inspection Report

University of Connecticut-Waterbury Campus

Connecticut · Public

University of Connecticut-Waterbury Campus is a public institution in Connecticut, enrolling 706 students as of 2024. It graduates 39% of students in four years, returns 78% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $9,451 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 4 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 2 are flagged: Retention and Graduation. This report benchmarks University of Connecticut-Waterbury Campus's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for University of Connecticut-Waterbury Campus between 2020 and 2024. 10 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 5 with no years reported at all) and 5 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

University of Connecticut-Waterbury Campus Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

University of Connecticut-Waterbury Campus — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for University of Connecticut-Waterbury Campus. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate39.0%not reported48th
Six-Year Graduation Rate60.0%not reported58th
Full-Time Retention Rate78.0%not reported54th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate49.7%not reported53rd
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap6.2ppnot reported39th
Pell Share of Cohort51.1%not reported73rd

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Rationot reportednot reportednot reported
Total FTE Enrollment706not reported27th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)not reportednot reportednot reported

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %not reportednot reportednot reported
Student Support Spending %not reportednot reportednot reported
Administrative Spending %not reportednot reportednot reported
Instruction+Support to Admin Rationot reportednot reportednot reported
Average Net Price$9,451+18.0%11th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$5,604+53.6%10th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$5,463-0.7%9th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$11,490+13.6%22nd
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$15,621-2.0%25th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$20,538+26.3%30th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
University of Connecticut-Waterbury Campus's retention rate fell below 80% in 4 of 4 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
University of Connecticut-Waterbury Campus's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 4 of 4 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
University of Connecticut-Waterbury Campus's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10pp in 1 of 4 eligible years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Total enrollment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
University of Connecticut-Waterbury Campus costs less than the national median AND graduates students at above-median rates — neither condition for this flag is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated