College Viability Inspection Report

University of California-San Diego

California · Public

University of California-San Diego is a public institution in California, enrolling 35,333 students as of 2024. It graduates 72% of students in four years, returns 94% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $14,047 a year after grants and scholarships. None of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated for University of California-San Diego are flagged. This report benchmarks University of California-San Diego's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for University of California-San Diego between 2020 and 2024. 2 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 1 with no year reported at all) — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

University of California-San Diego Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

University of California-San Diego — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for University of California-San Diego. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate72.0%+16.1%90th
Six-Year Graduation Rate88.0%+2.3%94th
Full-Time Retention Rate94.0%0.0%91st
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate82.0%-2.4%92nd
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap6.1pp+32.5%38th
Pell Share of Cohort34.5%+3.2%41st

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.08×not reported50th
Total FTE Enrollment35,333+10.2%99th
Endowment Value$1.56B+74.0%95th
Net Assets (End of Year)not reportednot reportednot reported

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %13.8%not reported4th
Student Support Spending %2.8%not reported7th
Administrative Spending %3.8%not reported2nd
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio4.44×+11.6%83rd
Average Net Price$14,047-7.7%29th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$7,525-23.4%16th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$8,155-27.0%18th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$9,942-30.5%15th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$15,199-27.3%23rd
Net Price: $110K+ Income$28,785-1.2%67th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
University of California-San Diego's retention rate stayed at or above 93% in all 5 reported years — above the 80% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
University of California-San Diego's 4-year graduation rate stayed at or above 62% in all 5 reported years — above the 50% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
University of California-San Diego's Pell graduation gap stayed at or below 10 percentage points in all 5 eligible years.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
University of California-San Diego's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 4 reported years — ending at 1.08× in 2024.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
University of California-San Diego's total enrollment grew from 32,055 to 35,333 students between 2020 and 2024 (+10.2%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
University of California-San Diego's endowment is $1.56B and grew +74.0% between 2020 and 2024 — clearing both the $50 million size threshold and the 15% growth threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
High Cost, Low Completion
University of California-San Diego costs less than the national median AND graduates students at above-median rates — neither condition for this flag is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
University of California-San Diego spends $4.44 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared