College Viability Inspection Report

University of California-Merced

California · Public

University of California-Merced is a public institution in California, enrolling 8,544 students as of 2024. It graduates 44% of students in four years, returns 82% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $13,690 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Graduation, Revenue to Expenses, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks University of California-Merced's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for University of California-Merced between 2020 and 2024. 2 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 1 with no year reported at all) — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

University of California-Merced Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

University of California-Merced — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for University of California-Merced. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate44.0%+15.8%56th
Six-Year Graduation Rate67.0%+1.5%71st
Full-Time Retention Rate82.0%-4.7%66th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate68.2%+0.7%82nd
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap1.3pp-46.4%22nd
Pell Share of Cohort64.2%+3.6%86th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.88×not reported8th
Total FTE Enrollment8,544+3.0%87th
Endowment Value$32.7M+83.6%39th
Net Assets (End of Year)not reportednot reportednot reported

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %19.8%not reported10th
Student Support Spending %9.0%not reported33rd
Administrative Spending %15.7%not reported38th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.83×+9.6%25th
Average Net Price$13,690+0.8%27th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$7,945-23.3%18th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$8,465-25.8%19th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$11,557-19.0%23rd
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$14,828-25.1%21st
Net Price: $110K+ Income$28,734-4.6%67th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
University of California-Merced's retention rate fell below 80% in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
University of California-Merced's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
University of California-Merced's Pell graduation gap stayed at or below 10 percentage points in all 5 eligible years.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
University of California-Merced's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 3 of 4 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 0.88×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
University of California-Merced's total enrollment grew from 8,294 to 8,544 students between 2020 and 2024 (+3.0%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
University of California-Merced's endowment is $32.7M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +83.6% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
University of California-Merced costs less than the national median AND graduates students at above-median rates — neither condition for this flag is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
University of California-Merced spends $1.83 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared