College Viability Inspection Report

University of Baltimore

Maryland · Public

University of Baltimore is a public institution in Maryland, enrolling 903 students as of 2024. It graduates 20% of students in four years, returns 60% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $14,545 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, and Enrollment. This report benchmarks University of Baltimore's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

University of Baltimore Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

University of Baltimore — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for University of Baltimore. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate20.0%+33.3%19th
Six-Year Graduation Rate33.0%-10.8%16th
Full-Time Retention Rate60.0%-23.1%13th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate32.4%+15.2%22nd
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap11.2pp-18.0%60th
Pell Share of Cohort48.7%-18.5%69th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.05×+4.7%41st
Total FTE Enrollment903-38.0%33rd
Endowment Value$75.8M+47.4%59th
Net Assets (End of Year)$201.2M+14.6%68th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %29.6%-18.0%35th
Student Support Spending %9.9%+14.0%37th
Administrative Spending %15.3%+9.8%37th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.57×-19.7%45th
Average Net Price$14,545-16.3%31st
Net Price: $0-30K Income$11,680-21.0%38th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$14,337-13.5%50th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$17,472-1.2%56th
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Income$19,406-20.9%25th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
University of Baltimore's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
University of Baltimore's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
University of Baltimore's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10pp in 1 of 4 eligible years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
University of Baltimore's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 5 reported years — ending at 1.05× in 2024.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
University of Baltimore's total enrollment fell from 1,456 to 903 students between 2020 and 2024 (-38.0%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
University of Baltimore's endowment is $75.8M and grew +47.4% between 2020 and 2024 — clearing both the $50 million size threshold and the 15% growth threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
High Cost, Low Completion
University of Baltimore costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
University of Baltimore's ratio fell below the national median of $2.75 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared