College Viability Inspection Report

Universidad Central Del Caribe

Puerto Rico · Private, not-for-profit

Universidad Central Del Caribe is a private, nonprofit institution in Puerto Rico, enrolling 73 students as of 2024. It graduates 9% of students in four years, returns 71% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $8,524 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Graduation, Enrollment, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Universidad Central Del Caribe's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Universidad Central Del Caribe between 2020 and 2024. 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Universidad Central Del Caribe Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Universidad Central Del Caribe — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Universidad Central Del Caribe. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate9.0%not reported10th
Six-Year Graduation Rate27.0%not reported11th
Full-Time Retention Rate71.0%-13.4%32nd
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate36.4%not reported27th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-36.4ppnot reported2nd
Pell Share of Cohort91.7%+541.7%97th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.13×-5.0%64th
Total FTE Enrollment73-25.5%6th
Endowment Value$6.9M+56.1%16th
Net Assets (End of Year)$36.0M+76.7%30th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %26.2%+15.9%23rd
Student Support Spending %3.1%-30.8%8th
Administrative Spending %16.6%+25.7%43rd
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.76×-14.0%23rd
Average Net Price$8,524+0.1%9th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$6,180-27.1%12th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$7,597-15.7%15th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$6,247not reported5th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$13,642not reported17th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$13,642not reported8th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Universidad Central Del Caribe's retention rate fell below 80% in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Universidad Central Del Caribe's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Universidad Central Del Caribe's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 5 reported years — ending at 1.13× in 2024.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Universidad Central Del Caribe's total enrollment fell from 98 to 73 students between 2020 and 2024 (-25.5%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Universidad Central Del Caribe's endowment is $6.9M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +56.1% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Universidad Central Del Caribe costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Universidad Central Del Caribe spends $1.76 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared