College Viability Inspection Report

Universidad Central de Bayamon

Puerto Rico · Private, not-for-profit

Universidad Central de Bayamon is a private, nonprofit institution in Puerto Rico, enrolling 481 students as of 2024. It graduates 4% of students in four years, returns 80% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $4,781 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 5 are flagged: Graduation, Revenue to Expenses, Enrollment, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Universidad Central de Bayamon's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Universidad Central de Bayamon Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Universidad Central de Bayamon — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Universidad Central de Bayamon. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate4.0%not reported7th
Six-Year Graduation Rate30.0%+200.0%14th
Full-Time Retention Rate80.0%+8.1%61st
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate33.1%+38.1%22nd
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-16.4pp-315.5%5th
Pell Share of Cohort95.8%+1.5%98th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.82×-12.0%4th
Total FTE Enrollment481-45.0%21st
Endowment Value$1.5M+34.1%7th
Net Assets (End of Year)$18.8M-9.0%22nd

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %22.1%-25.2%14th
Student Support Spending %15.1%+7.9%60th
Administrative Spending %29.2%+40.0%83rd
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.27×-39.0%13th
Average Net Price$4,781-16.6%2nd
Net Price: $0-30K Income$3,827-30.1%6th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$4,662-19.7%7th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$8,323-5.6%10th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$7,729not reported2nd
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Universidad Central de Bayamon's retention rate fell below 80% in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Universidad Central de Bayamon's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Universidad Central de Bayamon's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10pp in 2 of 5 eligible years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Universidad Central de Bayamon's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 4 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 0.82×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Universidad Central de Bayamon's total enrollment fell from 875 to 481 students between 2020 and 2024 (-45.0%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Universidad Central de Bayamon's endowment is $1.5M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +34.1% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Universidad Central de Bayamon costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Universidad Central de Bayamon spends $1.27 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared