College Viability Inspection Report

United States Sports University

Alabama · Private, not-for-profit

United States Sports University is a private, nonprofit institution in Alabama, enrolling 105 students as of 2024. It returns 43% of freshmen for a second year and costs an average of $24,076 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 4 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 2 are flagged: Endowment and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks United States Sports University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for United States Sports University between 2020 and 2024. 6 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 4 with no years reported at all) and 5 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

United States Sports University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

United States Sports University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for United States Sports University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Full-Time Retention Rate43.0%not reported3rd
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gapnot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Share of Cohortnot reportednot reportednot reported

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.66×-44.3%1st
Total FTE Enrollment105+78.0%9th
Endowment Value$1.0M0.0%6th
Net Assets (End of Year)$20.1M-15.1%23rd

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %25.5%-14.5%22nd
Student Support Spending %19.8%+40.0%76th
Administrative Spending %49.3%+1.6%98th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio0.92×+1.4%7th
Average Net Price$24,076not reported70th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$21,550not reported81st
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$24,731not reported89th
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$25,993not reported76th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$31,606not reported76th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 2 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
United States Sports University's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
United States Sports University's total enrollment grew from 59 to 105 students between 2020 and 2024 (+78.0%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
United States Sports University's endowment is $1.0M — under $50 million — and grew +0.0% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Either net price or 6-year graduation rate is not reported, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Spending on Students Below the National Median
United States Sports University spends $0.92 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated