College Viability Inspection Report

United States Naval Academy

Maryland · Public

United States Naval Academy is a public institution in Maryland, enrolling 5,194 students as of 2024. It graduates 88% of students in four years and returns 97% of freshmen for a second year. Of the 6 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Revenue to Expenses, Enrollment, and Endowment. This report benchmarks United States Naval Academy's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for United States Naval Academy between 2020 and 2024. 4 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 3 with no years reported at all) and 3 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

United States Naval Academy Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

United States Naval Academy — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for United States Naval Academy. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate88.0%-2.2%98th
Six-Year Graduation Rate90.0%-1.1%95th
Full-Time Retention Rate97.0%0.0%94th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gapnot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Share of Cohort0.0%0.0%0th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.95×not reported16th
Total FTE Enrollment5,194-10.3%78th
Endowment Value$4.2M-98.7%12th
Net Assets (End of Year)not reportednot reportednot reported

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %35.1%not reported58th
Student Support Spending %29.1%not reported95th
Administrative Spending %13.3%not reported27th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio4.81×-16.5%87th
Average Net Pricenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
United States Naval Academy's retention rate stayed at or above 96% in all 5 reported years — above the 80% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
United States Naval Academy's 4-year graduation rate stayed at or above 88% in all 5 reported years — above the 50% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
United States Naval Academy's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 4 of 4 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 0.95×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
United States Naval Academy's total enrollment fell from 5,792 to 5,194 students between 2020 and 2024 (-10.3%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
United States Naval Academy's endowment is $4.2M — under $50 million — and grew -98.7% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Either net price or 6-year graduation rate is not reported, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Spending on Students Below the National Median
United States Naval Academy spends $4.81 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated