College Viability Inspection Report

United States Merchant Marine Academy

New York · Public

United States Merchant Marine Academy is a public institution in New York, enrolling 1,620 students as of 2024. It graduates 70% of students in four years, returns 84% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $4,101 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 7 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 1 is flagged: Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks United States Merchant Marine Academy's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for United States Merchant Marine Academy between 2020 and 2024. 3 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 2 with no years reported at all) and 2 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

United States Merchant Marine Academy Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

United States Merchant Marine Academy — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for United States Merchant Marine Academy. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate70.0%-13.6%88th
Six-Year Graduation Rate77.0%-8.3%86th
Full-Time Retention Rate84.0%-7.7%71st
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate70.8%-26.2%85th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap12.7pp+182.9%67th
Pell Share of Cohort9.2%-14.7%4th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio2.11×not reported99th
Total FTE Enrollment1,620+7.9%50th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)not reportednot reportednot reported

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %21.9%not reported14th
Student Support Spending %31.3%not reported97th
Administrative Spending %33.9%not reported89th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.57×+9.7%19th
Average Net Price$4,101-10.3%2nd
Net Price: $0-30K Income$1,773-55.5%2nd
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$4,098-2.3%5th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$5,897-10.8%5th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$8,752-8.5%4th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$9,168-4.2%2nd

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
United States Merchant Marine Academy's retention rate fell below 80% in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
United States Merchant Marine Academy's 4-year graduation rate stayed at or above 70% in all 5 reported years — above the 50% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
United States Merchant Marine Academy's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 4 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
United States Merchant Marine Academy's total enrollment grew from 1,501 to 1,620 students between 2020 and 2024 (+7.9%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
United States Merchant Marine Academy costs less than the national median AND graduates students at above-median rates — neither condition for this flag is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
United States Merchant Marine Academy spends $1.57 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared