United States Coast Guard Academy is a public institution in Connecticut, enrolling 1,265 students as of 2024. It graduates 83% of students in four years and returns 99% of freshmen for a second year. Of the 5 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 1 is flagged: Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks United States Coast Guard Academy's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.
United States Coast Guard Academy Inspection Flags
Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.
Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.
Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.
Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
Student Outcomes
How students at United States Coast Guard Academy complete their degrees, benchmarked against U.S. four-year colleges.
College Financial Health
How financially stable United States Coast Guard Academy is, benchmarked against U.S. four-year colleges.
Value for Your Money
How United States Coast Guard Academy spends its budget and what families pay, benchmarked against U.S. four-year colleges.
How Much Will This Cost for Your Income Level?
Net price is the average annual out-of-pocket cost for first-time, full-time undergraduate students — tuition + fees + room & board, minus the grants and scholarships the institution reports providing to students in each income bracket. Select your household income below to see the reported figure for that group.
United States Coast Guard Academy — All Reported Indicators
Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for United States Coast Guard Academy. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.
Student Outcomes
| Metric | 2024 Value | 5-Yr % Change | National Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Four-Year Graduation Rate | 83.0% | +2.5% | 96th |
| Six-Year Graduation Rate | 87.0% | +3.6% | 93rd |
| Full-Time Retention Rate | 99.0% | -1.0% | 97th |
| Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Pell Share of Cohort | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0th |
Financial Health
| Metric | 2024 Value | 5-Yr % Change | National Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue-to-Expense Ratio | 0.95× | -42.6% | 16th |
| Total FTE Enrollment | 1,265 | +8.1% | 43rd |
| Endowment Value | $994,541 | not reported | 5th |
| Net Assets (End of Year) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Value for Money
| Metric | 2024 Value | 5-Yr % Change | National Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Instructional Spending % | 35.1% | +86.2% | 58th |
| Student Support Spending % | 29.1% | +11.6% | 95th |
| Administrative Spending % | 13.3% | -57.4% | 27th |
| Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio | 4.81× | +235.7% | 87th |
| Average Net Price | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Net Price: $0-30K Income | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Net Price: $30K-48K Income | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Net Price: $48-75K Income | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Net Price: $75K-110K Income | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Net Price: $110K+ Income | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Inspection Flags
| Flag | Section | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Retention Below 80% United States Coast Guard Academy's retention rate stayed at or above 94% in all 5 reported years — above the 80% threshold. | Student Outcomes | Cleared |
| Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50% United States Coast Guard Academy's 4-year graduation rate stayed at or above 81% in all 5 reported years — above the 50% threshold. | Student Outcomes | Cleared |
| Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students. | Student Outcomes | Not Evaluated |
| Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0 United States Coast Guard Academy's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold. | Financial Health | Cleared |
| Enrollment Declined 5% or More United States Coast Guard Academy's total enrollment grew from 1,170 to 1,265 students between 2020 and 2024 (+8.1%). | Financial Health | Cleared |
| Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15% Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated. | Financial Health | Not Evaluated |
| High Cost, Low Completion Either net price or 6-year graduation rate is not reported, so this flag could not be evaluated. | Value for Money | Not Evaluated |
| Spending on Students Below the National Median United States Coast Guard Academy spends $4.81 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 3 of 5 reported years. | Value for Money | Triggered |
| Rising Price, Falling Outcomes Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated. | Value for Money | Not Evaluated |