College Viability Inspection Report

Tuskegee University

Alabama · Private, not-for-profit

Tuskegee University is a private, nonprofit institution in Alabama, enrolling 2,675 students as of 2024. It graduates 33% of students in four years, returns 81% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $24,344 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Tuskegee University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Tuskegee University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Tuskegee University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Tuskegee University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate33.0%-2.9%37th
Six-Year Graduation Rate67.0%+59.5%71st
Full-Time Retention Rate81.0%+5.2%64th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate98.2%+70.3%98th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-61.8pp-397.8%1st
Pell Share of Cohort30.1%-43.6%31st

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.37×+37.0%90th
Total FTE Enrollment2,675-1.6%65th
Endowment Value$164.2M+33.1%75th
Net Assets (End of Year)$486.5M+83.8%83rd

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %28.6%-9.2%31st
Student Support Spending %10.3%+44.3%39th
Administrative Spending %18.0%-6.9%49th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.16×+8.2%33rd
Average Net Price$24,344-33.4%71st
Net Price: $0-30K Income$34,324-6.8%97th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$34,069-5.3%97th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$34,855-6.7%97th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$37,772+10.8%96th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$36,778not reported85th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Tuskegee University's retention rate fell below 80% in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Tuskegee University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Tuskegee University's Pell graduation gap stayed at or below 10 percentage points in all 5 eligible years.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Tuskegee University's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Tuskegee University's total enrollment fell from 2,717 to 2,675 students between 2020 and 2024 (-1.5%) — less than the 5% decline that triggers this flag.
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Tuskegee University's endowment is $164.2M and grew +33.1% between 2020 and 2024 — clearing both the $50 million size threshold and the 15% growth threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
High Cost, Low Completion
Tuskegee University costs more than the national median but also graduates students at above-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Tuskegee University spends $2.16 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared