College Viability Inspection Report

Trinity International University-Illinois

Illinois · Private, not-for-profit

Trinity International University-Illinois is a private, nonprofit institution in Illinois, enrolling 100 students as of 2024. It graduates 38% of students in four years, returns 13% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $2,835 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 7 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Equity Gap, Revenue to Expenses, Enrollment, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Trinity International University-Illinois's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Trinity International University-Illinois Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Trinity International University-Illinois — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Trinity International University-Illinois. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate38.0%0.0%46th
Six-Year Graduation Rate50.0%+8.7%39th
Full-Time Retention Rate13.0%-80.3%1st
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate43.1%-22.5%41st
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap5.2pp+204.6%35th
Pell Share of Cohort42.2%-4.5%57th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.68×-13.6%1st
Total FTE Enrollment100-81.5%8th
Endowment Value$20.9M-48.0%30th
Net Assets (End of Year)$48.5M-31.2%35th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %26.6%-36.5%24th
Student Support Spending %7.6%-45.6%25th
Administrative Spending %37.7%+112.8%92nd
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio0.91×-71.2%7th
Average Net Price$2,835-86.7%1st
Net Price: $0-30K Income$1,242-93.0%2nd
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$13,991-26.7%49th
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Trinity International University-Illinois's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Trinity International University-Illinois's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Trinity International University-Illinois's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10 percentage points in 3 of 5 eligible years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Trinity International University-Illinois's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 4 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 0.68×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Trinity International University-Illinois's total enrollment fell from 541 to 100 students between 2020 and 2024 (-81.5%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Trinity International University-Illinois's endowment is $20.9M — under $50 million — and grew -48.0% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Trinity International University-Illinois costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Trinity International University-Illinois spends $0.91 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 4 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared