College Viability Inspection Report

Thomas University

Georgia · Private, not-for-profit

Thomas University is a private, nonprofit institution in Georgia, enrolling 376 students as of 2024. It graduates 26% of students in four years, returns 49% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $17,823 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Enrollment, and Endowment. This report benchmarks Thomas University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Thomas University between 2020 and 2024. 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Thomas University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Thomas University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Thomas University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate26.0%+36.8%26th
Six-Year Graduation Rate35.0%+45.8%19th
Full-Time Retention Rate49.0%-16.9%5th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate15.6%-45.9%8th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-15.6pp-1506.3%5th
Pell Share of Cohort46.4%-33.0%65th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.00×-0.8%26th
Total FTE Enrollment376-11.1%18th
Endowment Value$7.2M+31.7%17th
Net Assets (End of Year)$18.8M+25.4%22nd

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %33.4%-15.8%50th
Student Support Spending %31.7%+30.2%97th
Administrative Spending %22.2%-19.2%66th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.93×+25.9%55th
Average Net Price$17,823-9.1%45th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$15,640-29.9%58th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$19,546-17.5%75th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$19,923-16.6%67th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$19,934+177.1%47th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$20,059not reported27th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Thomas University's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Thomas University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Thomas University's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Thomas University's total enrollment fell from 423 to 376 students between 2020 and 2024 (-11.1%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Thomas University's endowment is $7.2M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +31.7% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Thomas University costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Thomas University's ratio fell below the national median of $2.75 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared