College Viability Inspection Report

The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary

Kentucky · Private, not-for-profit

The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary is a private, nonprofit institution in Kentucky, enrolling 810 students as of 2024. It graduates 27% of students in four years, returns 79% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $21,081 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Graduation, Endowment, Cost vs. Completion, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator is not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate27.0%-25.0%27th
Six-Year Graduation Rate33.0%-19.5%16th
Full-Time Retention Rate79.0%-3.7%58th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gapnot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Share of Cohort0.0%0.0%0th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.21×+6.4%77th
Total FTE Enrollment810+6.7%30th
Endowment Value$102.8M+7.6%65th
Net Assets (End of Year)$193.6M+21.5%67th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %29.0%+1.6%33rd
Student Support Spending %17.6%+12.7%69th
Administrative Spending %23.1%-3.6%69th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.02×+9.5%29th
Average Net Price$21,081-22.8%58th
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary's retention rate fell below 80% in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary's total enrollment grew from 759 to 810 students between 2020 and 2024 (+6.7%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary's endowment grew +7.6% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold — though at $102.8M it clears the $50 million size threshold.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Spending on Students Below the National Median
The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary spends $2.02 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared