College Viability Inspection Report

Texas A&M University-San Antonio

Texas · Public

Texas A&M University-San Antonio is a public institution in Texas, enrolling 5,011 students as of 2024. It graduates 17% of students in four years, returns 66% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $11,568 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 7 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 2 are flagged: Retention and Endowment. This report benchmarks Texas A&M University-San Antonio's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Texas A&M University-San Antonio between 2020 and 2024. 4 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 2 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Texas A&M University-San Antonio Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Texas A&M University-San Antonio — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Texas A&M University-San Antonio. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate17.0%not reported16th
Six-Year Graduation Rate31.0%not reported14th
Full-Time Retention Rate66.0%-2.9%21st
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate36.9%not reported28th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap8.1ppnot reported46th
Pell Share of Cohort59.6%not reported83rd

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.04×-13.2%39th
Total FTE Enrollment5,011+8.5%78th
Endowment Value$4.5M+16.7%13th
Net Assets (End of Year)$282.5M+25.5%75th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %24.6%-37.9%20th
Student Support Spending %17.8%-24.8%70th
Administrative Spending %8.9%-35.2%13th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio4.74×+3.4%86th
Average Net Price$11,568+3.5%18th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$9,596+11.0%26th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$10,423-7.4%29th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$12,898-5.6%30th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$16,267-6.9%27th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$13,021-35.5%6th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Texas A&M University-San Antonio's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 1 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Texas A&M University-San Antonio's Pell graduation gap stayed at or below 10 percentage points in all 3 eligible years.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Texas A&M University-San Antonio's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Texas A&M University-San Antonio's total enrollment grew from 4,620 to 5,011 students between 2020 and 2024 (+8.5%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Texas A&M University-San Antonio's endowment is $4.5M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +16.7% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Texas A&M University-San Antonio costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Texas A&M University-San Antonio spends $4.74 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated