Temple University is a public institution in Pennsylvania, enrolling 21,024 students as of 2024. It graduates 62% of students in four years, returns 83% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $28,088 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 2 are flagged: Equity Gap and Enrollment. This report benchmarks Temple University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.
Temple University Inspection Flags
Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.
Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.
Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.
Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
Student Outcomes
How students at Temple University complete their degrees, benchmarked against U.S. four-year colleges.
College Financial Health
How financially stable Temple University is, benchmarked against U.S. four-year colleges.
Value for Your Money
How Temple University spends its budget and what families pay, benchmarked against U.S. four-year colleges.
How Much Will This Cost for Your Income Level?
Net price is the average annual out-of-pocket cost for first-time, full-time undergraduate students — tuition + fees + room & board, minus the grants and scholarships the institution reports providing to students in each income bracket. Select your household income below to see the reported figure for that group.
Temple University — All Reported Indicators
Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Temple University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.
Student Outcomes
| Metric | 2024 Value | 5-Yr % Change | National Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Four-Year Graduation Rate | 62.0% | +26.5% | 80th |
| Six-Year Graduation Rate | 78.0% | +6.8% | 87th |
| Full-Time Retention Rate | 83.0% | -4.6% | 69th |
| Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate | 67.2% | -2.9% | 82nd |
| Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap | 10.8pp | +35.4% | 58th |
| Pell Share of Cohort | 28.7% | -3.4% | 29th |
Financial Health
| Metric | 2024 Value | 5-Yr % Change | National Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue-to-Expense Ratio | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Total FTE Enrollment | 21,024 | -24.6% | 96th |
| Endowment Value | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Net Assets (End of Year) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Value for Money
| Metric | 2024 Value | 5-Yr % Change | National Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Instructional Spending % | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Student Support Spending % | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Administrative Spending % | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Average Net Price | $28,088 | +20.8% | 82nd |
| Net Price: $0-30K Income | $22,694 | +24.9% | 85th |
| Net Price: $30K-48K Income | $23,431 | +21.1% | 86th |
| Net Price: $48-75K Income | $26,534 | +23.0% | 89th |
| Net Price: $75K-110K Income | $29,397 | +20.8% | 86th |
| Net Price: $110K+ Income | $34,947 | +23.2% | 83rd |
Inspection Flags
| Flag | Section | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Retention Below 80% Temple University's retention rate stayed at or above 83% in all 5 reported years — above the 80% threshold. | Student Outcomes | Cleared |
| Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50% Temple University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold. | Student Outcomes | Cleared |
| Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points Temple University's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10 percentage points in 3 of 5 eligible years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. | Student Outcomes | Triggered |
| Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0 Temple University's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 4 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold. | Financial Health | Cleared |
| Enrollment Declined 5% or More Temple University's total enrollment fell from 27,866 to 21,024 students between 2020 and 2024 (-24.6%) — a decline of 5% or more. | Financial Health | Triggered |
| Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15% Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated. | Financial Health | Not Evaluated |
| High Cost, Low Completion Temple University costs more than the national median but also graduates students at above-median rates — only one of two conditions is met. | Value for Money | Cleared |
| Spending on Students Below the National Median Temple University spends $— on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year. | Value for Money | Cleared |
| Rising Price, Falling Outcomes Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered. | Value for Money | Cleared |