College Viability Inspection Report

Talladega College

Alabama · Private, not-for-profit

Talladega College is a private, nonprofit institution in Alabama, enrolling 820 students as of 2024. It graduates 25% of students in four years, returns 54% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $1,267 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 5 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Enrollment, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Talladega College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Talladega College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Talladega College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Talladega College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate25.0%+78.6%25th
Six-Year Graduation Rate34.0%+41.7%18th
Full-Time Retention Rate54.0%-16.9%8th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate38.5%+10.3%31st
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-30.0pp-17.5%3rd
Pell Share of Cohort74.5%-8.2%91st

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.76×-38.1%3rd
Total FTE Enrollment820-32.1%31st
Endowment Value$2.6M+2.4%9th
Net Assets (End of Year)$86.0M+42.6%48th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %21.6%+0.3%13th
Student Support Spending %28.4%+25.7%94th
Administrative Spending %32.6%-5.6%88th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.54×+20.0%18th
Average Net Price$1,267-92.6%0th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$12,835-35.7%46th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$14,385-25.5%51st
Net Price: $48-75K Income$14,680-14.7%40th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$18,723not reported41st
Net Price: $110K+ Income$22,348not reported37th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Talladega College's retention rate fell below 80% in 4 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Talladega College's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Talladega College's Pell graduation gap stayed at or below 10 percentage points in all 5 eligible years.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Talladega College's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Talladega College's total enrollment fell from 1,208 to 820 students between 2020 and 2024 (-32.1%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Talladega College's endowment is $2.6M — under $50 million — and grew +2.4% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Talladega College costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Talladega College spends $1.54 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared