College Viability Inspection Report

Spring Hill College

Alabama · Private, not-for-profit

Spring Hill College is a private, nonprofit institution in Alabama, enrolling 914 students as of 2024. It graduates 55% of students in four years, returns 70% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $22,858 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 7 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Equity Gap, Revenue to Expenses, Enrollment, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Spring Hill College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Spring Hill College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Spring Hill College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Spring Hill College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate55.0%+10.0%72nd
Six-Year Graduation Rate62.0%+5.1%63rd
Full-Time Retention Rate70.0%-13.6%30th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate42.0%-12.4%38th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap18.2pp+34.5%85th
Pell Share of Cohort44.7%+31.4%62nd

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.70×-27.6%1st
Total FTE Enrollment914-23.8%34th
Endowment Value$4.7M-72.6%13th
Net Assets (End of Year)$79.4M-4.2%46th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %22.4%-13.8%15th
Student Support Spending %18.7%+7.4%72nd
Administrative Spending %22.7%-1.9%67th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.81×-3.5%25th
Average Net Price$22,858-0.9%66th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$15,598-40.3%58th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$20,141-17.9%77th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$22,317+28.3%78th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$20,642not reported52nd
Net Price: $110K+ Income$26,240not reported56th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Spring Hill College's retention rate fell below 80% in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Spring Hill College's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Spring Hill College's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10 percentage points in 5 of 5 eligible years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Spring Hill College's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 4 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 0.70×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Spring Hill College's total enrollment fell from 1,199 to 914 students between 2020 and 2024 (-23.8%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Spring Hill College's endowment is $4.7M — under $50 million — and grew -72.6% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Spring Hill College costs more than the national median but also graduates students at above-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Spring Hill College spends $1.81 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared