College Viability Inspection Report

Spartanburg Methodist College

South Carolina · Private, not-for-profit

Spartanburg Methodist College is a private, nonprofit institution in South Carolina, enrolling 971 students as of 2024. It costs an average of $14,799 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 4 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 2 are flagged: Endowment and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Spartanburg Methodist College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Spartanburg Methodist College between 2020 and 2024. 5 indicators are not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 5 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Spartanburg Methodist College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Spartanburg Methodist College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Spartanburg Methodist College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Full-Time Retention Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gapnot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Share of Cohortnot reportednot reportednot reported

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.07×+4.6%47th
Total FTE Enrollment971-1.0%35th
Endowment Value$27.0M+21.6%35th
Net Assets (End of Year)$47.0M+10.9%35th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %28.4%+16.1%31st
Student Support Spending %9.2%-31.4%33rd
Administrative Spending %33.2%-3.8%88th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.13×+3.2%10th
Average Net Price$14,799+18.8%32nd
Net Price: $0-30K Income$13,794+24.1%51st
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$13,416+5.7%46th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$15,673+19.4%46th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$15,204+6.7%23rd
Net Price: $110K+ Income$18,025+20.6%19th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Spartanburg Methodist College's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Spartanburg Methodist College's total enrollment fell from 981 to 971 students between 2020 and 2024 (-1.0%) — less than the 5% decline that triggers this flag.
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Spartanburg Methodist College's endowment is $27.0M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +21.6% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Either net price or 6-year graduation rate is not reported, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Spartanburg Methodist College spends $1.13 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated