College Viability Inspection Report

Southern University at New Orleans

Louisiana · Public

Southern University at New Orleans is a public institution in Louisiana, enrolling 1,265 students as of 2024. It graduates 7% of students in four years, returns 52% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $14,480 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 7 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Equity Gap, Enrollment, Endowment, Tuition Allocation, and Price vs. Outcomes. This report benchmarks Southern University at New Orleans's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Southern University at New Orleans Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Southern University at New Orleans — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Southern University at New Orleans. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate7.0%0.0%8th
Six-Year Graduation Rate17.0%-32.0%6th
Full-Time Retention Rate52.0%+23.8%7th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate12.6%-26.8%7th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap6.2pp-77.3%38th
Pell Share of Cohort91.3%-2.3%97th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.89×-17.9%9th
Total FTE Enrollment1,265-15.1%43rd
Endowment Value$3.4M+9.9%11th
Net Assets (End of Year)$110.1M-3.9%53rd

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %20.5%-17.3%11th
Student Support Spending %11.8%-12.2%47th
Administrative Spending %32.2%+18.1%87th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.00×-28.5%9th
Average Net Price$14,480+25.9%30th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$14,771+24.4%55th
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$19,360+17.3%45th
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Southern University at New Orleans's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Southern University at New Orleans's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Southern University at New Orleans's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10 percentage points in 3 of 5 eligible years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Southern University at New Orleans's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Southern University at New Orleans's total enrollment fell from 1,490 to 1,265 students between 2020 and 2024 (-15.1%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Southern University at New Orleans's endowment is $3.4M — under $50 million — and grew +9.9% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Southern University at New Orleans costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Southern University at New Orleans spends $1.00 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Both conditions were met: Southern University at New Orleans's net price rose while the 6-year graduation rate declined between 2020 and 2024 — a prompt to ask whether tuition increases are translating into stronger student outcomes.
Value for MoneyTriggered