College Viability Inspection Report

Southern College of Optometry

Tennessee · Private, not-for-profit

Southern College of Optometry is a private, nonprofit institution in Tennessee. Of the 3 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Revenue to Expenses, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Southern College of Optometry's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Southern College of Optometry between 2020 and 2024. 11 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 7 with no years reported at all) and 6 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Southern College of Optometry Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Southern College of Optometry — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Southern College of Optometry. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Full-Time Retention Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gapnot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Share of Cohortnot reportednot reportednot reported

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.94×-3.1%14th
Total FTE Enrollmentnot reportednot reportednot reported
Endowment Value$36.0M+52.9%41st
Net Assets (End of Year)$73.9M-12.8%44th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %45.5%+3.3%87th
Student Support Spending %3.7%-5.9%10th
Administrative Spending %19.2%+22.9%54th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.56×-16.6%44th
Average Net Pricenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Southern College of Optometry's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 3 of 4 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 0.94×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Total enrollment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Southern College of Optometry's endowment is $36.0M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +52.9% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Either net price or 6-year graduation rate is not reported, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Southern College of Optometry spends $2.56 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 3 of 4 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated