College Viability Inspection Report

Southern California Seminary

California · Private, not-for-profit

Southern California Seminary is a private, nonprofit institution in California, enrolling 26 students as of 2024. It graduates 0% of students in four years and returns 0% of freshmen for a second year. Of the 5 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Graduation, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Southern California Seminary's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Southern California Seminary between 2020 and 2024. 6 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 1 with no year reported at all) and 4 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Southern California Seminary Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Southern California Seminary — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Southern California Seminary. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Six-Year Graduation Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Full-Time Retention Rate0.0%not reported0th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate0.0%not reported0th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap100.0ppnot reported100th
Pell Share of Cohort50.0%not reported70th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.94×-6.3%14th
Total FTE Enrollment26+4.0%2nd
Endowment Value$115,8500.0%1st
Net Assets (End of Year)$659,119-10.5%6th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %38.7%+20.8%71st
Student Support Spending %26.6%-12.9%91st
Administrative Spending %27.2%-7.6%79th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.40×+12.8%41st
Average Net Pricenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 1 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Southern California Seminary's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 4 of 4 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Southern California Seminary's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Southern California Seminary's total enrollment grew from 25 to 26 students between 2020 and 2024 (+4.0%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Southern California Seminary's endowment is $115,850 — under $50 million — and grew +0.0% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Either net price or 6-year graduation rate is not reported, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Southern California Seminary spends $2.40 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated