College Viability Inspection Report

Shaw University

North Carolina · Private, not-for-profit

Shaw University is a private, nonprofit institution in North Carolina, enrolling 795 students as of 2024. It graduates 8% of students in four years, returns 52% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $16,445 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 5 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Enrollment, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Shaw University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Shaw University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Shaw University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Shaw University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate8.0%+14.3%9th
Six-Year Graduation Rate14.0%-6.7%5th
Full-Time Retention Rate52.0%-22.4%7th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate20.1%+20.9%10th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap10.2pp-53.5%56th
Pell Share of Cohort83.1%-8.1%94th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.76×-25.0%3rd
Total FTE Enrollment795-28.3%30th
Endowment Value$14.3M+30.4%25th
Net Assets (End of Year)$50.9M+65.3%36th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %16.5%-9.3%6th
Student Support Spending %20.5%-2.2%79th
Administrative Spending %33.8%-14.9%89th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.09×+11.1%10th
Average Net Price$16,445-7.5%39th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$16,236-27.8%61st
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$16,276-33.0%59th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$21,145-22.3%73rd
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Income$24,966-15.9%50th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Shaw University's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Shaw University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Shaw University's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10pp in 2 of 5 eligible years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Shaw University's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Shaw University's total enrollment fell from 1,109 to 795 students between 2020 and 2024 (-28.3%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Shaw University's endowment is $14.3M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +30.4% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Shaw University costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Shaw University spends $1.09 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared