College Viability Inspection Report

San Diego Christian College

California · Private, not-for-profit

San Diego Christian College is a private, nonprofit institution in California, enrolling 76 students as of 2024. It graduates 33% of students in four years, returns 86% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $21,199 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 6 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Enrollment, Endowment, Cost vs. Completion, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks San Diego Christian College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for San Diego Christian College between 2020 and 2024. 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

San Diego Christian College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

San Diego Christian College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for San Diego Christian College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate33.0%-8.3%37th
Six-Year Graduation Rate33.0%-19.5%16th
Full-Time Retention Rate86.0%+45.8%77th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate35.7%-30.7%26th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-20.8pp-288.4%4th
Pell Share of Cohort23.0%-31.8%20th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.68×-36.8%1st
Total FTE Enrollment76-84.7%6th
Endowment Value$694,522-3.4%4th
Net Assets (End of Year)$-273,009+90.2%5th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %16.5%-22.4%6th
Student Support Spending %9.5%-67.3%35th
Administrative Spending %46.5%+278.1%97th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio0.56×-86.4%2nd
Average Net Price$21,199-24.1%59th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$992-96.6%1st
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
San Diego Christian College's retention rate fell below 80% in 4 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
San Diego Christian College's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
San Diego Christian College's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
San Diego Christian College's total enrollment fell from 496 to 76 students between 2020 and 2024 (-84.7%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
San Diego Christian College's endowment is $694,522 — under $50 million — and grew -3.4% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
San Diego Christian College costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Spending on Students Below the National Median
San Diego Christian College spends $0.56 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 4 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared