College Viability Inspection Report

Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook

Pennsylvania · Private, not-for-profit

Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook is a private, nonprofit institution in Pennsylvania, enrolling 37 students as of 2024. It graduates 35% of students in four years and returns 58% of freshmen for a second year. Of the 6 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Enrollment, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator has IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 3 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate35.0%-38.6%41st
Six-Year Graduation Rate59.0%-16.9%57th
Full-Time Retention Rate58.0%-42.0%11th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap50.0pp+200.0%99th
Pell Share of Cohort16.7%+116.7%11th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.94×+65.4%98th
Total FTE Enrollment37-45.6%3rd
Endowment Value$19.2M+19.5%28th
Net Assets (End of Year)$86.3M+21.5%48th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %18.8%+7.0%9th
Student Support Spending %10.8%+22.1%42nd
Administrative Spending %41.1%-6.8%95th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio0.72×+20.3%4th
Average Net Pricenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook's retention rate fell below 80% in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook's total enrollment fell from 68 to 37 students between 2020 and 2024 (-45.6%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook's endowment is $19.2M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +19.5% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Either net price or 6-year graduation rate is not reported, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook spends $0.72 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated