College Viability Inspection Report

Ramapo College of New Jersey

New Jersey · Public

Ramapo College of New Jersey is a public institution in New Jersey, enrolling 5,104 students as of 2024. It graduates 58% of students in four years, returns 84% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $17,566 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 2 are flagged: Enrollment and Price vs. Outcomes. This report benchmarks Ramapo College of New Jersey's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Ramapo College of New Jersey between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator is not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Ramapo College of New Jersey Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Ramapo College of New Jersey — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Ramapo College of New Jersey. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate58.0%-1.7%76th
Six-Year Graduation Rate70.0%-5.4%77th
Full-Time Retention Rate84.0%-1.2%71st
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate64.4%+8.4%78th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap7.7pp-55.8%44th
Pell Share of Cohort29.4%+12.2%30th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.06×+2.0%45th
Total FTE Enrollment5,104-9.2%78th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)$205.5M+138.5%69th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %42.6%+1.0%81st
Student Support Spending %13.4%+14.3%54th
Administrative Spending %16.4%+2.3%42nd
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio3.40×+1.6%66th
Average Net Price$17,566+1.6%44th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$9,008-26.2%23rd
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$10,708-35.0%31st
Net Price: $48-75K Income$18,074-17.9%59th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$22,949-15.3%63rd
Net Price: $110K+ Income$26,008-6.2%55th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Ramapo College of New Jersey's retention rate stayed at or above 84% in all 5 reported years — above the 80% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Ramapo College of New Jersey's 4-year graduation rate stayed at or above 58% in all 5 reported years — above the 50% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Ramapo College of New Jersey's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10pp in 2 of 5 eligible years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Ramapo College of New Jersey's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 5 reported years — ending at 1.06× in 2024.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Ramapo College of New Jersey's total enrollment fell from 5,619 to 5,104 students between 2020 and 2024 (-9.2%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Ramapo College of New Jersey costs less than the national median AND graduates students at above-median rates — neither condition for this flag is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Ramapo College of New Jersey spends $3.40 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Both conditions were met: Ramapo College of New Jersey's net price rose while the 6-year graduation rate declined between 2020 and 2024 — a prompt to ask whether tuition increases are translating into stronger student outcomes.
Value for MoneyTriggered