College Viability Inspection Report

Purdue University Global

Indiana · Public

Purdue University Global is a public institution in Indiana, enrolling 36,267 students as of 2024. It graduates 10% of students in four years, returns 57% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $7,770 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 6 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Purdue University Global's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Purdue University Global between 2020 and 2024. 5 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 3 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Purdue University Global Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Purdue University Global — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Purdue University Global. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate10.0%not reported11th
Six-Year Graduation Rate10.0%not reported4th
Full-Time Retention Rate57.0%+72.7%10th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap66.7pp+238.5%99th
Pell Share of Cohort50.0%-36.4%70th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.01×+6.3%30th
Total FTE Enrollment36,267+1.7%99th
Endowment Value$178,031not reported2nd
Net Assets (End of Year)$-35.0M+26.6%3rd

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %15.9%-0.3%6th
Student Support Spending %18.0%+710.4%70th
Administrative Spending %56.2%-24.7%99th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio0.60×+147.7%3rd
Average Net Price$7,770not reported7th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$9,806not reported27th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$1,665not reported2nd
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Purdue University Global's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Purdue University Global's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 4 of 4 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Purdue University Global's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Purdue University Global's total enrollment grew from 35,645 to 36,267 students between 2020 and 2024 (+1.7%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Purdue University Global costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Purdue University Global spends $0.60 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated