College Viability Inspection Report

Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music

Puerto Rico · Public

Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music is a public institution in Puerto Rico, enrolling 236 students as of 2024. It graduates 26% of students in four years, returns 88% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $7,260 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 5 are flagged: Graduation, Revenue to Expenses, Enrollment, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music between 2020 and 2024. 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate26.0%+85.7%26th
Six-Year Graduation Rate74.0%+4.2%82nd
Full-Time Retention Rate88.0%+23.9%82nd
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate100.0%+150.0%98th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-50.0pp-225.0%1st
Pell Share of Cohort33.3%-33.3%38th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.98×+14.7%22nd
Total FTE Enrollment236-22.1%14th
Endowment Value$2.4M+49.4%9th
Net Assets (End of Year)$59.4M+8.3%40th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %43.2%+6.9%83rd
Student Support Spending %6.2%-5.1%19th
Administrative Spending %27.9%+4.8%80th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.77×+0.4%24th
Average Net Price$7,260+44.0%6th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$7,144+69.1%15th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$5,875-27.7%10th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$8,875+6.9%12th
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music's retention rate fell below 80% in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 0.98×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music's total enrollment fell from 303 to 236 students between 2020 and 2024 (-22.1%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music's endowment is $2.4M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +49.4% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music costs less than the national median AND graduates students at above-median rates — neither condition for this flag is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music spends $1.77 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared