College Viability Inspection Report

Pontifical College Josephinum

Ohio · Private, not-for-profit

Pontifical College Josephinum is a private, nonprofit institution in Ohio, enrolling 49 students as of 2024. It graduates 31% of students in four years and returns 100% of freshmen for a second year. Of the 6 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Graduation, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Pontifical College Josephinum's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Pontifical College Josephinum between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator has IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 3 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Pontifical College Josephinum Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Pontifical College Josephinum — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Pontifical College Josephinum. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate31.0%+6.9%34th
Six-Year Graduation Rate31.0%+6.9%14th
Full-Time Retention Rate100.0%+16.3%97th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap37.5pp+263.6%98th
Pell Share of Cohort15.8%0.0%10th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.16×+53.7%69th
Total FTE Enrollment49+4.3%4th
Endowment Value$33.3M+12.5%39th
Net Assets (End of Year)$47.2M+1.2%35th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %32.4%-14.3%46th
Student Support Spending %11.0%+25.9%43rd
Administrative Spending %32.4%+16.0%88th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.34×-19.7%15th
Average Net Pricenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Pontifical College Josephinum's retention rate fell below 80% in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Pontifical College Josephinum's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 4 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Pontifical College Josephinum's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Pontifical College Josephinum's total enrollment grew from 47 to 49 students between 2020 and 2024 (+4.3%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Pontifical College Josephinum's endowment is $33.3M — under $50 million — and grew +12.5% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Either net price or 6-year graduation rate is not reported, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Pontifical College Josephinum spends $1.34 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated