College Viability Inspection Report

Pennsylvania College of Technology

Pennsylvania · Public

Pennsylvania College of Technology is a public institution in Pennsylvania, enrolling 3,782 students as of 2024. It graduates 43% of students in four years, returns 81% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $23,675 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, and Enrollment. This report benchmarks Pennsylvania College of Technology's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Pennsylvania College of Technology between 2020 and 2024. 4 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Pennsylvania College of Technology Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Pennsylvania College of Technology — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Pennsylvania College of Technology. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate43.0%+4.9%54th
Six-Year Graduation Rate57.0%+11.8%53rd
Full-Time Retention Rate81.0%+8.0%64th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate40.8%-11.0%36th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap7.4pp-47.1%43rd
Pell Share of Cohort38.3%+4.3%50th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Rationot reportednot reportednot reported
Total FTE Enrollment3,782-13.2%73rd
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)not reportednot reportednot reported

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %not reportednot reportednot reported
Student Support Spending %not reportednot reportednot reported
Administrative Spending %not reportednot reportednot reported
Instruction+Support to Admin Rationot reportednot reportednot reported
Average Net Price$23,675+3.1%69th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$20,065-4.1%76th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$19,090-14.1%73rd
Net Price: $48-75K Income$21,546-12.8%75th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$27,465-0.0%81st
Net Price: $110K+ Income$30,533+2.4%72nd

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Pennsylvania College of Technology's retention rate fell below 80% in 4 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Pennsylvania College of Technology's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Pennsylvania College of Technology's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10pp in 2 of 5 eligible years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Pennsylvania College of Technology's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 4 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Pennsylvania College of Technology's total enrollment fell from 4,358 to 3,782 students between 2020 and 2024 (-13.2%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Pennsylvania College of Technology costs more than the national median but also graduates students at above-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Pennsylvania College of Technology's ratio fell below the national median of $2.75 in 2 of 4 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared