College Viability Inspection Report

Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts

Pennsylvania · Private, not-for-profit

Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts is a private, nonprofit institution in Pennsylvania, enrolling 95 students as of 2024. It graduates 45% of students in four years, returns 0% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $33,323 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Enrollment, Endowment, Cost vs. Completion, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts between 2020 and 2024. 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate45.0%-29.7%57th
Six-Year Graduation Rate50.0%-39.0%39th
Full-Time Retention Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate50.0%0.0%53rd
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap9.3ppnot reported51st
Pell Share of Cohort18.2%-27.3%13th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.00×+30.1%27th
Total FTE Enrollment95-52.3%8th
Endowment Value$44.9M+21.0%46th
Net Assets (End of Year)$91.5M-3.0%50th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %16.1%-11.7%6th
Student Support Spending %1.8%-69.6%5th
Administrative Spending %23.5%+11.2%70th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio0.76×-33.3%5th
Average Net Price$33,323-16.3%91st
Net Price: $0-30K Income$39,928+18.7%99th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$42,301+3.5%99th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$42,893-9.4%99th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$44,893-14.3%98th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$46,702+7.2%93rd

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts's retention rate fell below 80% in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts's total enrollment fell from 199 to 95 students between 2020 and 2024 (-52.3%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts's endowment is $44.9M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +21.0% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts spends $0.76 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared